Networked Learning Project Post #3

9 Jun

The time is quickly approaching for me to execute my gourmet menu…and I’m getting excited. School is done, so my end-of-the-year diet of fast food, chicken nuggets, and frozen pizza will soon be replaced (at least for one meal) with a delicious meal of potato leek soup, caesar salad, sea scallops, glazed salmon with mushroom risotto and green beans, and creme brûlée for dessert.

This week, I’ve done a bit more research on my menu. First of all, I have been making sure I can actually obtain all the items necessary for each recipe. I would like to try to shop as locally as possible, so I’ve scoped out a few places where I can buy fresh produce, bread, and fresh fish locally. There are a couple of items that I will need to purchase at Meijer, but, for the most part, I think small local markets will add an interesting spin to the idea of cooking a gourmet meal. And Chef Ramsay always stresses the importance of buying local and buying fresh, so I want to make him happy of course!

Secondly, I have analyzed each recipe in order to ensure that I can execute some of the required tasks. The soup recipe required a dollop of creme fraiche, and I’ve decided to omit this requirement for a couple of reasons. First, I think shredded cheese and sour cream will work just fine, and second, I’m already pretty intimidated by the salmon, risotto, and creme brûlée, and I don’t want to accidentally bite of more than I can chew (pardon the pun). There are also some kitchen gadgets (like a wire mesh strainer) that I will need to purchase in order to complete some of the tasks. I’ve also decided to look up a more specific recipe for sea scallops, since the Chef Ramsay instructional video moved a little too fast for my novice experience.

Just like last week, here is my current menu. There are a few simple changes, but most of the menu remains unchanged. I’m still working on perfecting the terminology so it sounds more impressive and professional.

Drink
White Peach Sangria (and something for the non drinkers)

Appetizer
sea scallops and bread

Salad
Caesar Salad
romain lettuce with freshly grated parmesan cheese and homemade caesar dressing

Soup
Potato Leek Soup

Entree
Salmon with Mushroom Risotto and green beans

Dessert
Creme Brulee

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

